What I wrote at Lib Dem Voice

August 23, 2006

New poll coming - next Lib Dem President...?

My posting last week, Another Lib Dem election? - wondering if the current Lib Dem president, Simon Hughes, would be re-elected unopposed, or would face a contest - triggered a vigorous response. And none of it will have made happy reading for Simon.

All of those who commented on my article wanted an election, while
Toby Philpott and Neil Woollcott both put finger to keyboard to urge a change at the top.

So I’m going to upload a new poll tomorrow asking folk who they want to be the next Lib Dem President - the person elected by members to be “the principal public representative of the Party”, and to chair our Federal Executive.

Do you want Simon to stay on? Or do you want an election and a fresh face?

The purpose of this article is to ask who else to include in the poll alongside Simon. The names which have been floated most often so far are (in alphabetical order):

  • Paddy Ashdown
  • Lynne Featherstone
  • Susan Kramer
  • Jo Swinson
  • Matthew Taylor
  • Shirley Williams
  • Jenny Willott

(Candidates do not, by the way, have to be members of either the House of Commons or Lords. But the demands of the job require whoever stands to be able to devote a significant amount of time to the role.)


Neil said...

Maybe a better approach would set up list people (voting conference reps) can sign upto if they feel a contested election should go ahead. If we get the 50 needed then we can try to attract someone to stand against Simon.

Anonymous said...

It wouldn't surprise me if Lembit doesn't have another go.